Saguenay international
short film festival

Saguenay, Thursday, February 22, 2024 – A week before the announcement of the official program of its 28th edition, REGARD – the Saguenay International Short Film Festival, is pleased to introduce audiences and industry members to the 19 jurors who will compose the festival’s five different juries. The jurors will attend the festival in Saguenay from March 20 to 24, and will award nearly $120,000 in cash and professional services during the official awards ceremony on March 24. 

Official Competition jury

The jury for this year’s Official Competition is comprised of actress Anne-Marie Cadieux (Quebec); well-known short-film producer, publicist and programmer (TIFF, Palm Springs, Aspen, Seattle, Tribeca, Hot Docs) Kathleen McInnis (United States); multidisciplinary Tyendinaga Mohawk artist and programmer of the Toronto Queer Film Festival Nishina Loft (Ontario); director of the film Richelieu Pier-Philippe Chevigny (Quebec): and Theodore Ushev (Canada), the Bulgarian-born animation filmmaker whose films have won more than 100 awards and distinctions around the world. 

Together, they will name the winners of the Grand Prize, Canadian Grand Prize, Jury Prize, and the awards for Best Animation Short Film and Best Documentary Short Film.

“As a jury member, my aim is to be open to all voices and all aesthetics. Short film is a medium that has room for every risk and even makes it possible to subvert the form. I can’t wait to take in cinematic languages from around the world, dive into innovative and intimate worlds and discover new talents. It’s an honour that I accept solemnly, with all my heart and immense enthusiasm!” 

- Anne-Marie Cadieux, actress

Focus Competition jury

The members of the Focus Competition jury, a section aimed at providing a platform for often underrepresented voices, are Julie Groleau (Québec), producer and co-founder of Couronne Nord; Alisi Telengut (Canada), an Indigenous artist and filmmaker whose animated films have won multiple awards; Miguel Dias (Portugal), a programmer of Curtas Vila do Conde - International Film Festival; and Sheenah Ko, an Irish-Chinese producer and composer based in Saguenay.

The five-member jury will choose a winner for each of the five sections of the Focus Competition: Shoot No Matter What, 100 % Regions, Americana, Short & Queer and the new Regards Autochtones (Indigenous Perspectives) section. 


Thanks once again to the support of the Bureau du cinéma de Saguenay, REGARD is hosting a jury of the Fédération internationale de la presse cinématographique (FIPRESCI). The international critics’ jury has three members: Davide Abbatescianni (Rome, Italy), Diego Faraone (Uruguay) and Rachel Ho (Canada). 

The jury will choose the winner of the FIPRESCI International Critics’ Prize from among all Canadian films in the Official Competition.

AQCC jury

Three Quebec-based journalists will name the winner of the AQCC Quebec Critics’ Award on behalf of the Association québécoise des critiques de cinéma. 

Jules Couturier (L’Itinéraire, Cinémaniak, Séquences), Mathieu Bédard (Séquences) and Sarah-Louise Pelletier-Morin (L’Inconvénient, Panorama-cinéma) will choose the winner from among all international films in the Official Competition.

Youth Competition jury

Three specialists in creating entertainment for young audiences will select the winner of the award for Best Youth Short Film this year: youth author and cultural mediator Chloé Varin (Quebec), filmmaker Lucie Lambert (Quebec), and Manon Musset (France), editorial director of the Benshi youth cinema platform.

Two Audience Awards

Festivalgoers will also get their say by voting for films after screenings, as well as online either via the website or the festival’s mobile app. The Audience Award for the Official Competition and the Audience Award for the Focus Competition will be presented to the two short films that receive the most votes. 

Alanis Obomsawin retrospective 

For the very first time, REGARD will welcome one of the world’s most distinguished Indigenous filmmakers, Alanis Obomsawin. In collaboration with the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) and with the financial support of Warner Bros. Discovery, a retrospective of her most significant short films will be shown on the afternoon of Saturday, March 23, at the CEM’s Studio Desjardins. The screening will be followed by a Q&A session.

“Alanis is a pioneer who has never been afraid to name and show things as they are. She is a great source of inspiration to an entire generation of filmmakers, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous. With more than 50 films to her credit and at 91 years of age, believe it or not she is still filming! Everyone wants some of her time, so it’s an incredible privilege that she is able to join us for this landmark moment in the festival’s history.” 

- Mélissa Bouchard, programming director 

Festival passes are still available on the Diffusion Saguenay website.

The full program will be announced for an audience of journalists, partners and friends of the festival on Thursday, February 29 at 10 a.m. at the CEM’s Studio Desjardins.

Photo: Andréanne Gauthier